New Year, New Goal: 2015

Number 1: Re-enroll and complete my Ed Leadership certificate.  In fact, I need to set a goal of calling and speaking with an advisor this week!

2014 brought a ton of professional accomplishments my way.  My wife, Julie, and I hosted West Virginia’s first Edcamp in April.  We attended our second Edcamp in the Columbus, Ohio area and extended our friendships with some incredible educators in the area.  In December, we accepted an invite to see Dave Burgess and his day-long presentation on Teach Like a Pirate.  Those three learning experiences were incredible and they all happened in 2014!  The year also saw the hiatus of #wvedchat, the weekly statewide edchat for West Virginia.  I don’t see it as a defeat though.

Social media has become the catalyst for change for thousands if not millions of educators all over the globe.  It has provided tremendous opportunities for growth, reflection, and learning for me.  Though my own classroom presents me with plenty of opportunities to improve, search for higher quality learning experiences, and refine a more valuable system for communicating learning to my students and parents; I can’t squelch my desire to be in a position that yields more influence.  I know I could present a school and a district with servant leadership that is timely, relevant, and effective.  I believe God has blessed me not only with a desire, but also the tools to drive sustainable changes, perhaps yet unseen, in the place that He would have me to be.

Without my Savior and my family at the focal point of my efforts, success is out of reach.  I needed the reminder and the message has been received lately.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *