Can your students fish?

Can your students fish? 
“Give a man a fish, you’ll feed him for a day.  Teach a man how to fish and you’ll feed him for a lifetime.”

What an awesome post by Oliver Shinkten.  I’ve connected with Oliver a few times on Twitter and I’ve enjoyed his tweets a lot!  I haven’t made an official “guest post” yet on my blog, so this is it.  I can’t think of a better topic.  I have similar conversations with students every day in my own classroom.  One of the skills my students become really good at throughout the course of a year is perseverance and learning how to learn.  I stress to them that learning how to learn, and learning how to teach yourself is really about perseverance.  But teaching students how to learn is an essential and often overlooked skill.  In fact, how many teachers can say they know how to learn?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *